For Those Who Dare LP BLACK

  • SKU: N-37109
  • GTIN: 698142971564
  • Category: RoW
  • Artists:
BlackBeard/ Jolly Roger Records, black vinyl,...
21,99 €
incl. 19% VAT , plus shipping costs
  • Available immediately
  • Delivery time: 2 - 3 Workdays (Other countries)

BlackBeard/ Jolly Roger Records, black vinyl, By early-1984, guitar virtuoso David T. Chastain had moved on from his hard rock outfit, Spike, to form the more metal-centric CJSS with the intention of exploring a direction more true to his musical vision. However, before CJSS would go on to achieve success of their own, David caught the attention of Shrapnel Records founder Mike Varney. The #1 prospect to front the band was Rude Girl vocalist Leather Leone, who—alongside Spike and CJSS bassist Mike Skimmerhorn and future Cinderella drummer Fred Coury—cemented the initial lineup of the new project, christened simply: Chastain. A highly prolific writer, David had stockpiled a wide assortment of tracks to choose from for the group's nine-song debut, "Mystery of Illusion"—from catchy, high-energy salvos to more melodic compositions, to the slower, almost Black Sabbath-like approach. Recorded by Steve Fontano at Prairie Sun Recording Studios in November/December of 1984, "Mystery of Illusion" was released on Lp and cassette through Shrapnel in 1985, with Roadrunner handling vinyl in Europe. Chastain's magic combination of David's anthemic songwriting with Leather's soaring vocal power opened the floodgates for the legendary careers for which both artists are now known. "Ruler of the Wasteland" Lp was released in 1986 once again on Shrapnel for Us and Roadrunner for Europe and also pressed in Japan (Far East Metal Syndicate) and Canada (Banzai). "Ruler of the Wasteland" and also the following albums "The 7th of Never" (1987) and "The Voice of the Cult" (1988) were all recorded by the same line-up powered by the talented drummer Ken Mary (Fifth Angel, Alice Cooper) who replaces Fred Coury, suggested to Chastain straight by Shrapnel boss Mike Varney. Thanks to his mix of technicality and fantasy he gave a great and important contribution to all Chastain albums where he recorded. Originally released in 1990 "For Those Who Dare" was the fifth studio album from Chastain, the final to feature original vocalist Leather Leone before reunion in 2013. New drummer (John Luke Herbert, later also with King Diamond) and bass player (David Harbour) joined the recording-sessions. As for the previous albums the focus remains split between David T. Chastain’s guitar heroics and Leather Leone’s true metal powerhouse vocals but there is a noticeable progression to heavier and darker sound. Again available on vinyl (first Lp reprint since 1990!) with 2 bonus unreleased (demo) tracks and different master from the original

Item weight: 0,26 kg